Since 1965

Teams announced for Under 19 State Challenge

Four squads have been announced for the Male Under 19 State Challenge to be held from 2-4 October at Raby Sports Complex with numerous emerging young cricketers to compete for a place at the National Championships.

The seven 2018 Basil Sellers Scholars named for the State Challenge include Manly-Warringah allrounder Oliver Davies, Sutherland wicketkeeper, batsman Aiden Bariol and his club team mate, allrounder Austin Waugh, Manly fast bowler Joel Foster, Mosman allrounder Lachlan Hearne, Bankstown quick Liam Marshall and 16-year-old Dom O’Shannessy from Bowral.

Austin Waugh will lead Metro Thunder during the State Challenge which will also include Sutherland batsman Luke Hawksworth, new Sutherland recruit Flynn Parker will bowl for the Country Sixers squad and Aiden Bariol will keep wicket for the Metro Sixers.

Head Coach of the Cricket NSW High Performance Transition squad, Anthony Clark, said the State Challenge was a great opportunity for the up-and-coming Under 19 players to test themselves against the best.

“I am looking forward to watching you all play after the hard work that has been put in through the off season and seeing the improvements that have been made,” Clark said.


Become an SDCC Shark


Updates surrounding all things Sutherland District Cricket Club, Sutherland Shire Junior Cricket, our sponsors and much more coming soon. Join now so you don't miss out!