Since 1965

This Week In History - 1 Oct

25 September 1965

The club’s first playing day in the Sydney grade competition – Paul Lennon took 5-9 in “A” Shires vs Lindfield at Birchgrove Oval No.2, the club’s first 5-wicket haul.

25 September 2011

4th Grade scored 7/465 vs Mosman at Rawson Oval – the highest score for the club in 4ths. Mark Rice scored 164 and Grant Davies made 103.

26 September 2010

Matthew Bradley scored 174 in 5th Grade vs Mosman at GMO, breaking the club record score for 5ths (166* by Shane Duff in 2003-04).

30 September 2006

John Derwent took 8-127 in 2nd Grade vs Mosman at Rawson Oval.

30 September 2017

Shane Watson (184) & Jarryd Biviano (122) put on 300 for the 2nd wicket in 1st Grade vs St.George at GMO, breaking the record partnership for the 2nd wicket in all grades for the club which had been 285 by Nic Maddinson & Matthew Hughston in the 1st Grade semi-final vs Eastern Suburbs at GMO in 2009-10.

1 October 1966

John Philip took 3-40 in the second innings vs Sydney in 2nd Grade at Caringbah Oval to finish with match figures of 11-50.

1 October 1988

1st Grade scored 493 vs Parramatta at Caringbah Oval – the highest score for the club in 1sts at the time. Steve Rixon (142) & Greg Horner (153) put on 261 for the 6th wicket – the record partnership for any wicket in all grades for the club at the time and still the record partnership for the 6th wicket in all grades.

1 October 2010

Shane Watson scored 126 in the first innings of the 1st Test vs India in Mohali.

1st Grade Debuts:

25 September1965: Norm O’Neill, Bob Bain, Merv Black, Ted Cotton, Stan Gilchrist, Don Harkness, Bryan Hazell, Grant Le Huray, Ron Neill, Jack Slattery, Dick Taylor; 1971: Bob Duff; 1993: Tim Brennan; 1999: Paul Sutherland; 2004: Tim Freeburn, Michael Hansen; 2010: Adam Zampa

26 September1981: Matt Appleton; 2015: Jarryd Biviano, Lockie Ferguson; 2020: Ethan Deal, Tushaar Garg

27 September1969: Alan Griffiths; 1975: Les Johns, Graham Rose; 1980: Bob Buckland, Peter Ferguson; 2003: Wes Croese, James Franklin; 2008 – Michael Maclennan, Nic Maddinson; 2015: Tom Doyle, Jason Hayward

28 September1968: Barry Davison, Warren Smith; 1974: John Henry; 1985: Evan Atkins, David Coppock; 1996: Brad Guthrie, Jason Young; 2002: Grant Roden, Peter Wooden; 2013: Daniel Fallins, Michael Holmes, Peter Saroukos; 2019: Liam Hehir

29 September1973: Alan Campbell, Andrew Hilditch; 1979: Steve Rixon; 1984: John Boyd, David Niu


Become an SDCC Shark


Updates surrounding all things Sutherland District Cricket Club, Sutherland Shire Junior Cricket, our sponsors and much more coming soon. Join now so you don't miss out!