Since 1965

This Week In History - 2 October

26 September 2011

Matthew Bradley scored 174 in 5th Grade vs Mosman at GMO, breaking the club record score for 5ths (166* by Shane Duff in 2003-04).

30 September 2006

John Derwent took 8-127 in 2nd Grade vs Mosman at Rawson Oval.

30 September 2017

Shane Watson (184) & Jarryd Biviano (122) put on 300 for the 2nd wicket in 1st Grade vs St.George at GMO, breaking the record partnership for the 2nd wicket in all grades for the club which had been 285 by Nic Maddinson & Matthew Hughston in the 1st Grade semi-final vs Eastern Suburbs at GMO in 2009-10.

1 October 1966

John Philip took 3-40 in the second innings vs Sydney in 2nd Grade at Caringbah Oval to finish with match figures of 11-50.

1 October 1988

1st Grade scored 493 vs Parramatta at Caringbah Oval – the highest score for the club in 1sts at the time. Steve Rixon (142) & Greg Horner (153) put on 261 for the 6th wicket – the record partnership for any wicket in all grades for the club at the time and still the record partnership for the 6th wicket in all grades.

1 October 2010

Shane Watson scored 126 in the first innings of the 1st Test vs India in Mohali.

2 October 1965

Norm O’Neill scored 168 on day 2 of the club’s first 1st Grade match vs St.George at Hurstville Oval – the club’s first century, which stood as the club’s record score for all grades until Phil Weatherall broke it with 173* in 3rd Grade in 1983-84. It remained the club record score for 1sts until 1999-00, when Matthew Bradley scored 212*.

2 October 1965

Ted Rollinson took 8-64 in the second innings in “A” Shires vs Lindfield at Birchgrove Oval No.2, the club’s first 8-wicket haul. He finished with match figures of 11-106, the club’s first 10 wickets in a match.

2 October 2009

Shane Watson scored 136no in the ICC Trophy semi-final vs England at Centurion. He won the Player of the Match award.

1st Grade Debuts:

26 September1981: Matt Appleton; 2015: Jarryd Biviano, Lockie Ferguson; 2020: Ethan Deal, Tushaar Garg

27 September1969: Alan Griffiths; 1975: Les Johns, Graham Rose; 1980: Bob Buckland, Peter Ferguson; 2003: Wes Croese, James Franklin; 2008 – Michael Maclennan, Nic Maddinson; 2015: Tom Doyle, Jason Hayward

28 September1968: Barry Davison, Warren Smith; 1974: John Henry; 1985: Evan Atkins, David Coppock; 1996: Brad Guthrie, Jason Young; 2002: Grant Roden, Peter Wooden; 2013: Daniel Fallins, Michael Holmes, Peter Saroukos; 2019: Liam Hehir

29 September1973: Alan Campbell, Andrew Hilditch; 1979: Steve Rixon; 1984: John Boyd, David Niu

2 October1967: Kerry Owen; 1972: John Dyson, Brian O’Dowd, Chris Russell; 1978: Paul Fisher, Bill Moffatt; 1982: Len Pascoe, Gary Richardson


Become an SDCC Shark


Updates surrounding all things Sutherland District Cricket Club, Sutherland Shire Junior Cricket, our sponsors and much more coming soon. Join now so you don't miss out!