Since 1965

This Week In History - 8 Oct

2 October 1965

Norm O’Neill scored 168 on day 2 of the club’s first 1st Grade match vs St.George at Hurstville Oval – the club’s first century, which stood as the club’s record score for all grades until Phil Weatherall broke it with 173* in 3rd Grade in 1983-84. It remained the club record score for 1sts until 1999-00, when Matthew Bradley scored 212*.

2 October 1965

Ted Rollinson took 8-64 in the second innings in “A” Shires vs Lindfield at Birchgrove Oval No.2, the club’s first 8-wicket haul. He finished with match figures of 11-106, the club’s first 10 wickets in a match.

2 October 2009

Shane Watson scored 136no in the ICC Trophy semi-final vs England at Centurion. He won the Player of the Match award.

4 October 2003

Aaron Phillips (154) & Daniel Marandola (61no) put on 195 for the 10th wicket in 3rd Grade vs Western Suburbs at Sutherland Oval. It was the highest partnership for the 10th wicket in all grades for the club and the highest 10th wicket partnership in Sydney grade cricket history.

5 October 1970

Michael Abbott took 8-6 & 4-23 in 5th Grade vs Manly-Warringah “A” at Tonkin Oval – match figures of 12-29 in one day.

5 October 1991

Alex Mann took 8-72 in 5th Grade vs St.George at Tonkin Oval.

5 October 2009

Shane Watson scored 105no in the ICC Trophy final vs New Zealand at Centurion. He won the Player of the Match award.

5 October 2015

Steve Smith scored 143no vs Cricket Australia XI in the Matador BBQs Cup at Bankstown Oval.

5 October 2016

Steve Smith scored 108 in an ODI vs South Africa in Durban.

6 October 1973

Malcolm McDonald took 3-3 in the second innings in 3rd Grade vs Nepean at Cook Park, to give him match figures of 10-23 after taking 7-20 in the first innings the previous week.

7 October 1968

Alan Kay took 8-67 in 3rd Grade vs Bankstown-Canterbury at Jensen Oval.

7 October 1989

Grant Geraghty took 9-43 in 5th Grade vs Gordon at Sutherland Oval – the best bowling figures in 5ths for the club.

7 October 2014

Steve Smith scored 101 in an ODI vs Pakistan in Sharjah. He won the Player of the Match award.

1st Grade Debuts:

2 October1967: Kerry Owen; 1972: John Dyson, Brian O’Dowd, Chris Russell; 1978: Paul Fisher, Bill Moffatt; 1982: Len Pascoe, Gary Richardson

3 October 1970: John Bolster, Bruce Warwick

4 October 1997: Phil Jaques; 2003: Luke Fleming

5 October2002: Daryl Tuffey; 2009: Andre Adams

6 October 1969: Peter Carpenter


Become an SDCC Shark


Updates surrounding all things Sutherland District Cricket Club, Sutherland Shire Junior Cricket, our sponsors and much more coming soon. Join now so you don't miss out!